Thibault fights off a push from Zhu to claim the Ontario Women’s Amateur Championship

BELLEVILLE, ON – Muggy conditions kicked off the fourth and final round of the 104th annual Ontario Women’s Amateur Championships from Black Bear Ridge Golf Course. The final day would produce both an amazing comeback attempt from Emily Zhu (Team Canada National Junior Squad Member) and also an excellent display of toughness from Brigitte Thibault (Team Canada National Amateur Squad Member). This toughness allowed Thibault, who had been the leader after days two and three, to claim the title.

Zhu (National Pines Golf Club) came out very strong, carding a 4-under par 36 on the front and actually taking the lead after nine holes but Thibault battled back tying things on the 12th with a nice birdie.  The two would stay tied until late when Zhu would bogey 16 and 17. Thibault bogeyed 18 but would still claim the title by one stroke firing a final round +1 (73). Zhu would finish with the only under par round of the day, a -2 (70) and claim the silver medal. Hailey McLaughlin (Granite GC) took home the bronze medal after another steady round of +1 (73) to finish 5 strokes back of the leader.

A thrilled Thibault spoke of her win after the round. “I knew my game wasn’t clutch-clutch the past few days, but I just tried to keep my head up” she said. “I knew Emily was playing really well and she wasn’t going to go away, so I just focused on myself and I’m someone who never gives up.” She then mentioned what it means to win this particular trophy. “It’s obviously a honour, I love to see the previous winners that have all took this kind of step to where they are now. I see a lot of names from Team Canada and excited to see where this could take me.”

Golf Ontario would like to thank Black Bear Ridge Golf Course and their staff for their support of the Ontario Women’s Amateur Championship. A special thank you as well goes out to all the Golf Ontario volunteers.

For the official tournament website final results, CLICK HERE

For pictures of the tournament CLICK HERE


About the Women’s Amateur Championship

First played in 1904, the Ontario Women’s Amateur Championship is being contested for the 104th time in 2019. The event features the best female golfers from across Ontario in a 72-hole stroke play format, with the field cut to the low 54 golfers and ties after 36 holes. Past winners include 1968 LPGA Championship winner Sandra Post (1964), LPGA player Alena Sharp (1989), Team Canada members Jennifer Kirby (2009, 2010), Augusta James (2011), Brittany Marchand (2012) and Brooke Henderson (2014). World, Canadian and Ontario Golf Hall of Fame member Marlene Stewart Streit holds the record for the most titles with 11 (’51, ’56, ’57, ’58, ’68, ’69, ’70, ’72, ’74, ’76, and ’77).

About the Women’s Mid Amateur Championship

Open to female golfers aged 25 and over, the Women’s Mid-Amateur event was first contested in 1989. Past champions of the event include Samuel (1991, 2000 and 2010), Borthwick (1992 and1993) and Hayward, who has won the event a record 14 times. The event consists of 54 holes of stroke play competition with the field cut after 36 holes.

Follow us on Twitter and Instagram, and Like us on Facebook, @TheGolfOntario for upcoming updates all Golf Ontario Championships.