Ontario Public Player

Baka Wireless Ontario Public Amateur Championship Returns to Tarandowah GC

Uxbridge, ON – Golfers return to Tarandowah Golfers Club for the Baka Wireless 2022 Ontario Public Amateur Championship from September 14th to 15th, presented by Triple Bogey Brewing. Ninety golfers will compete over 36-holes of championship stroke play, male players will be in the hunt for three flights of championship titles and women golfers playing in Gross and Net Competition. 

Tarandowah, the 2021 host as well, is a well-known course in not only Ontario but Canada as well. “Tarandowah has just been nominated 75th in Canada by SCOREGolf magazine and 40th best public course in Canada,” said Andy Shaw, Director of Operations. “Tarandowah is excited to host the Golf Ontario championship again and provide the players with a true representation of a links-style course. The course architect Martin Hawtree just finished working on changes to the Old Course at St. Andrews, so the players will see very similar holes and shots that are required. In addition, 108 pot bunkers and firm and fast fairways await the players with greens that have plenty of break and require precise shot making.”

This tournament is open to players of the Golf Ontario Public Player Program and members of a semi-public golf course. Golfers will compete in three separate flights of competition, with the A flight competing in a gross competition, while the B and C flights will play in a net competition. Golfers in the b flight will also have an opportunity to compete in the overall A flight. A women’s division has been brought back to this championship for the first time since 2009, when it had run for eight years.

Tee times begin at 8 am Wednesday and Thursday off the 1st tee. Please view our Golf Genius page here for more information, tee times, and leaderboard links.

Tee Times / Leaderboard

About The Baka Wireless Public Amateur Championship

The Baka Wireless Public Amateur Championship was first played in 1958 at Don Valley Golf Club. Past winners include Robert Mclean (2021), Arnold Johnson (2015, 2011), and Peter Willis (2014). Mill Run Golf and Country Club (Uxbridge, ON) has hosted the tournament a record nine times.

The Public Amateur Championship provides the perfect opportunity for those interested in trying a competitive tournament while providing gross and net flights. This allows higher handicap players to play against players in their handicap grouping.

About Golf Ontario

Golf Ontario is Ontario’s Provincial Sport Organization focused on enhancing participation, elevating performance, and supporting the passion of golfers in Ontario. With over 100,000 individual members and 500 member clubs, Golf Ontario is one of the largest golf associations in the world.  From rating courses and keeping the integral rules of the game intact to growing the game at the grassroots level and hosting the best amateur tournaments in Canada, Golf Ontario is a passionate group dedicated to Shaping Lives Through Golf.

Stay Connected on Instagram/Twitter/Facebook: @TheGolfOntario

To stay informed on Golf Ontario’s championship play, events, and additional updates, make sure to follow us on Instagram and Twitter, and like us on Facebook. Make sure to visit our website for further information.

For more information, please contact:

Peter MacKellar, Manager, Marketing and Communications, Golf Ontario;

GAO Ontario Public Player

Arnold Johnson wins 2015 Baka Wireless Public Player

INNISFIL— The Golf Association of Ontario’s (GAO) Baka Wireless Public Player Championship concluded on Sept. 2, at National Pines Golf Club in Innisfil. When all of the scores were in, it was 2011 champion, Arnold Johnson, who hoisted the trophy for a second time.

This year, the championship was divided into three categories: the A Flight, for the overall gross championship, and two net flights, B and C. Players were placed into one of the three flights based on their handicap ratings heading into the event.

Johnson, from Brampton, began the day at four-over, five shots back of leader Jean-Henri Lavoie, also from Brampton. The 47-year-old Johnson started the day in the fifth from last group. He had a tough start and was two-over at the turn. However, he would settle down on the back nine and thanks to birdies on the 15th and 18th holes, he finished the day even. That brought his tournament total to four-over (76-72), good enough for the win.

“This wasn’t expected at all, I just came out and played the golf course,” said Johnson. “I have won this before, but today was special because I have been suffering from a wrist ailment this season. I just had it fixed three weeks ago, so this was a comeback and it was quite a joy to play well and win.”

Johnson went on to talk about what went well and what his frame of mind was during the final round. “I was finally able to make some putts. Yesterday the greens were a bit slower but today I was able to live with them. The good putting definitely helped. I figured I needed to be two or three under to have a chance. I just wanted to keep it close, I didn’t think 72 would do it but it did.”

Capturing the silver medal was Oshawa’s Jay Finley. Finley finished the day four-over (76) to go along with his opening round of one-over (73), which was good enough to grab second by just one stroke at five-over for the tournament.

Five players shared the bronze medal at six-over for the championship. The group included: Toronto’s Chris Willis (78-72), Cobourg’s Lucas Pichl (74-76), Mississauga’s Dawson Pitcher (75-75), Lavoie (71-79) and Mississauga’s Gary Young (73-77).

In the Net B Flight, it was Oakville’s David Everest who came away with the title. Everest had an opening-round net score of one-under (71) and followed it up with a three-under (69) second round to win the flight by a stroke at four-under.

Taking the Net C Flight was Toronto’s John Baty. Baty had an opening round net score of four-under (68), but outdid himself on the second day finishing with a net 13-under (59) to win the title at 17-under for the tournament.

For complete tournament information, including the final leaderboards, see the tournament site at: http://gao.bluegolf.com/bluegolf/gao15/event/gao1587/index.htm

The GAO would like to thank the staff and volunteers at National Pines Golf Club for their help in running the event. Thanks also to title sponsor Baka Wireless and the GAO volunteers for their continued support of golf in the province.

 About the Baka Wireless Ontario Public Player Championship

The Baka Wireless Public Player Championship has been contested since 1958. It was suspended between 1984 and 1995. This year’s event is a two-round competition with a gross championship and two net flights. Former champions include: Ontario Golf Hall of Famer Gerry Kesselring, Ken Trowbridge, Dave Bunker and Lucas Kim. Craig Loughry holds the record for the most victories with four.