george s lyon Golf Ontario The Club at Bond Head

Brampton captures George S. Lyon Team Championship; Meek claims Crofton Harvey Shield as top individual


BOND HEAD — The George S. Lyon Team Championship return to its annual site of The Club at Bond Head South Course on May 31st for the 81st playing of the event. This year’s event saw 21 teams take part, all looking to bring the title home to their club.

Conditions started out favourable for the field but as the round progressed, the wind picked up and threats of rain loomed. Soon those threats became a reality as the skies opened up and caused a two hour and 24 minute delay.

When play resumed, a condensed field returned to the course to finish up their last few holes. When all was said and done it was the team from Brampton Golf Club who finished in top spot. The team of Brampton’s Dave Bunker, Toronto’s Simon Reyers, Brampton’s Gary Parker, and Mississauga’s Sean Lackey shot a combined 309 to win by a single stroke. Leading the way were Lackey and Reyers who finished four-over (76), Bunker carded a five-over (77) and Parker was eight-over (80).

“Winning this championship is really cool!” Said Lackey, on behalf of the team after the win. “We were pretty excited when we saw how our team shaped up and everyone has been working hard since the start of the season. Some of these guys have already won Golf Ontario events but this is my first, so I am especially excited.”

This was the second time that Brampton won the George S. Lyon Team Championship. Their only other win came in 1971.

Finishing in second place were the 2014 champions Cedar Brae Golf Club. Cedar Brae, consisting of Toronto’s Joseph Kremer, Thornhill’s Ryan Tsang, Toronto’s Marc St-Germain, and Toronto’s Robert Gibson ended the day at 310. Kremer and Gibson led the way each with a three-over (75), while Tsang and St-Germain each finished with an eight-over (80).

Taking the bronze medal was Kawartha Golf & Country Club at 311. Kawartha received a great effort from Peterborough’s Sam Meek who was the medalist on the day with an even par (72). Meek was awarded the Crofton Harvey Shield for being the top individual. Peterborough’s Steve Fredericks finished five-over (77), Peterborough’s Marc Savard was eight-over (80), and Peterborough’s Paul Stevens was 10-over (82).


For full results, including the final leaderboards, see the tournament site at:

Golf Ontario would like to thank The Club at Bond Head, along with their staff, for hosting the event. Thanks also to the Golf Ontario volunteers for their continued support.

About the George S. Lyon Team Championship

The George S. Lyon Team Championship was first played in 1931 and ran consecutively until 2000. Originally an inter-club championship, the event was reinstated in 2006 and is named after 1904 Olympic Golf gold medalist George S. Lyon. Scarboro Golf & Country Club holds the record for most wins with eight.


Golf Ontario is Ontario’s Provincial Sport Organization focused on enhancing participation, elevating performance and supporting the passion of golfers in Ontario. With over 90,000 individual members and 450 member clubs, Golf Ontario is one of the largest golf associations in the world.  From rating courses and keeping the integral rules of the game intact, to growing the game at the grassroots level and getting the game of golf into our school systems, to keeping the Ontario golf community aware of all relevant issues and hosting the best amateur tournaments in Canada, Golf Ontario is a passionate group dedicated to making golf better for everyone in Ontario. We share a love and passion for golf, while preserving its past, fostering its future, and championing golf’s best interests for everyone who enjoys the sport.

For more information please contact:

Darren Matte, Communications and Marketing Coordinator

Golf Ontario

905-852-1101 ext. 234

GAO george s lyon

Cedar Brae wins 2014 George S. Lyon Championship Title

BOND HEAD, ON – More than 100 golfers began the day but by the end, it was the team from the Cedar Brae Golf & Country Club who out lasted 27 other teams, along with heavy rain, to claim the title on Sept. 2 at the George S. Lyon Team Championship, hosted by The Club at Bond Head.

Four-man teams from golf clubs across Ontario came together for the 79th playing of the event. Players took to Bond Head’s South Course in a combined gross-score format, with Cedar Brae earning the title by three strokes at 16-over (304).

The team from Cedar Brae, in Scarborough, was comprised of Toronto’s Robert Gibson, Scarborough’s Richard Persaud, Markham’s Wesley Kwok and Toronto’s Marc St-Germain.

At the end of the round it was Gibson who led the way finishing in a tie for second among all players at even-par (72). Persaud and Kwok were both second on the team at four-over (76) and St-Germain finished eight-over (80). It is the third title for Cedar Brae since the inaugural event in 1931. Cedar Brae’s last title came in 2006.

“Winning this is a big deal for us,” said Gibson. “There are so many good players at our club so I think just to be here and represent the club in a competition like this is an achievement. There are a lot of folks that are going to be proud of us when we get back. We’ve had our name on here (the George S. Lyon Shield) before, but it has been a while, so it is good to have it back on here.”

Gibson also talked about how the team dealt with the rainy conditions during the round. “We just tried to keep the big numbers and damage down. It was easy to give up, make big numbers and shoot high scores but we stayed patient and didn’t try to get any big numbers back, that was the main thing.”

Runner-up honours went to the team representing the Sarnia Golf and Country Club: Ethan O’Meara, Eric Pattenaude, Stephen Brown and Aaron Pedlar, who were three shots back finishing at a combined 19-over (307).

The bronze medals were awarded to the team from North Halton. They finished the day at a combined 22-over (310). North Halton was comprised of Darren Morris, Brendan Heinz, Adam Salisbury and Rick Cody.

Pickering’s Christopher Kertsos, from York Downs Golf & Country Club, walked away with the top-individual award. He finished at two-under (70). He was the only player to finish the day under par.

For the final individual and team leaderboard see the tournament site at:

The George S. Lyon Team Championship was first played in 1931 and ran consecutively until 2000. Originally an inter-club championship, the event was reinstated in 2006 and is named after 1904 Olympic Golf gold medalist George S. Lyon, who still stands as the reigning Olympic champion of the sport.

The GAO would like to thank The Club at Bond Head for their support of the event as well as each of the golf clubs that entered the Championship.