Golf Ontario Ontario Men's Better Ball

Sauerbrei and Reyers repeat as Ontario Men’s Better Ball Champions

TORONTO — Another Golf Ontario provincial championship season got underway on May 11, with the Men’s Better-Ball Championship from Oakdale Golf & Country Club. Despite the recent wet weather, the course was in fine shape and the players only dealt with cool and windy conditions on the day.

The field consisted of 54 teams (108 players) who all began at the 10 a.m. shotgun. Much like 2016, the day belonged to Kingston’s Peter Sauerbrei (Cataraqui Golf & Country Club) and Toronto’s Simon Reyers (Brampton Golf Club). The 2016 champions returned to the site of their victory a year a go and were able to tame the course again. The pair carded a seven-under (65) to earn a one-stroke win.

Afterwards the pair spoke about what it meant to repeat as champions. “This is a great event, I love this format,” said Reyers. “We are obviously thrilled to win this in back-to-back years. There are some great names on this trophy and we are happy to have ours on it again.”

The pair took advantage of the holes they needed to, while avoiding any damage during their bogey-free round. “We made par on the tough holes and birdied the easier ones and when you do that, it makes the round much easier,” added Sauerbrei.

Picking up the silver medal was Whitby’s Brendan Dunphy (Whitevale Golf Club) and Sudbury’s Tristan Renaud (Idylwylde Golf & Country Club). The pair finished the round at six-under (66).

Finishing in a tie for third was the team from Cedar Brae Golf Club of Thornhill’s Ryan Tsang and Markham’s Truman Tai along with the duo of Etobicoke’s Justin Allen (Weston Golf &Country Club) and Barrie’s Abe Holmes (Barrie Country Club). Both teams ended the day at five-under (67).

Golf Ontario would like to thank Oakdale Golf & Country Club, along with their staff, for once again hosting the event. Thanks also to the Golf Ontario volunteers for their continued support of golf in the province.

About The Ontario Men’s Better-Ball

The Ontario Men’s Better-Ball Championship has been played since 1959. All but two of the championships have taken place at Oakdale G&CC. The tournament is open to teams whose members both have up-to-date Golf Canada Handicap Factor of 8.4 or less. Previous winners of the event include: Gary Cowan, Bill Morland, Nick Weslock, Kelly Roberts, Warren Sye, Bill Swartz, Mike Weir and Albin Choi.