Round 2 Recaps, Mid-Am Champ Crowned After Round 3 Tomorrow From Pointe West GC



Amherstburg, ON – Round two is in the books at Pointe West Golf Club for the 106th Ontario Women’s Amateur and Mid-Amateur Championship. A cut in the Amateur field has been made to the low 48 scores and a champion will be crowned for the Ontario Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship following the third-round tomorrow.


Moving into the Mid-Amateur leader position following a round of 75 is Weston Golf and Country Club’s Terrill Samuel. Falling to second after a grind of a round is Alexandra Taylor (Cherry Hill Club), with Stefi Markovich (Lookout Point CC) and Judith Kyrinis (The Thornhill Club) just one-stroke back in a tie for third. Tee times for the field are set for 10:04 a.m., with the leader group teeing off at 10:37 a.m.


Over in the larger Amateur field, Nyah Kelly (Lindsay G&CC) finds herself in first with a two-stroke lead following a low round of 69. A tie for second remains, with Jasmine Ly (Public Player) and Ella Weber (Rattlesnake Point GC) in the race as moving day gets underway at 7:30 a.m. tomorrow.


Make sure to tune into Instagram tomorrow afternoon as we live stream play from the leader group on the final hole of the Ontario Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship. For qualifying, pin locations, tee times, and leaderboard information check out our Golf Genius webpage here.


About the Ontario Women’s Am & Mid Am Championship

First played in 1904, the Ontario Women’s Amateur Championship is Ontario’s oldest provincial championship and is the pinnacle of women’s golf in the province. The event features the best female golfers from across Ontario in a 72-hole stroke play format.


The Women’s Amateur has produced a rich history of champions throughout the tournaments long and cherished existence. Past winners include 1968 LPGA Tour players Sandra Post (1964), Alena Sharp (1989), Jennifer Kirby (2009, 2010), Augusta James (2011), Brittany Marchand (2012), Brooke Henderson (2014), Maddie Szeryk and Team Canada standout Brigitte Thibault (2019). World, Canadian and Ontario Golf Hall of Fame member, Marlene Stewart Streit, holds the record for the most titles with 11 (’51, ’56, ’57, ’58, ’68, ’69, ’70, ’72, ’74, ’76, and ’77).


First played in 1989, the Ontario Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship is open to female golfers aged 25 and over. In honour of her outstanding accomplishments at the Mid-Amateur level in Ontario, the trophy is rightfully named after 14-time champion Mary Ann Hayward. The event is contested annually in a 54-hole competition. Other notable past champions of the event include 2012 Canadian Senior Women’s Champion Terrill Samuel (1991, 2000 and 2010), Casey Ward (2015) and Golf Ontario Hall of Fame members Gayle Borthwick Hitchens (1992, 1993), and Judith Kyrinis (2017).


Stay Connected on Instagram/Twitter/Facebook: @TheGolfOntario

To stay informed on Golf Ontario’s championship play, events, and additional updates, make sure to follow us on Instagram and Twitter, and like us on Facebook. Make sure to visit our website for further information.


Key Provincial Competitions Protocols/Restrictions (as of July 21st, **subject to change)




For more information please contact:

Brianna Christopher,
Assistant, Marketing Communications, Golf Ontario;


Peter MacKellar,
Manager, Marketing and Communications, Golf Ontario;