Rain Delays’ set Back Round 1 of the Ontario Women’s Amateur & Mid-Amateur Championship at Dalewood GC

Dalewood, ON – While we know the golf courses needed rain, today was not the ideal day for our ladies to see it happen. As the weather continued to prevail, Dalewood Golf Club welcomed the 2020 Ontario Women’s Amateur and Mid-Amateur Championship for their opening round of four.


With a 3.5 hour weather delay at 9:30 a.m., play resumed at 1:15 p.m. only to be postponed again at 7:30 p.m… After the first weather delay, number eight was removed from play due to an excess of water flooding on the green. Because of the lengthened weather delay, eleven groups (11:32 a.m. to 1:22 p.m.) did not finish their first round. Tomorrow morning will resume play at 8:00 a.m. with the players who did not finish their round today.


Currently leading is Claire Hernandez, (Thornhill Club) sitting at 2 under including four birdies on her round. In a tie for second at one under, we have five players; Sarah Beqaj (Toronto GC), Madeline Marck-Shrek (Bridgewater CC), Nicole Gal (Oakville GC), Ava Koukofikas (Meadowbrook G&CC), and Alessandra Nagayo (Don Valley GC). Hall of Famer Judith Kyrinis (Granite GC), currently leads in the Mid-Amateur category after a plus one round with much golf still left to play.


Pushing back an hour back to allow for round one to finish, round two will being at 8:30 a.m. Follow the full leaderboard here.


For photos of the tournament, click here.


About the Ontario Women’s Am & Mid Am Championship

First played in 1904, the Ontario Women’s Amateur Championship is Ontario’s oldest provincial championship and is the pinnacle of women’s golf in the province. The event features the best female golfers from across Ontario in a 72-hole stroke play format.


The Women’s Amateur has produced a rich history of champions throughout the tournaments long and cherished existence. Past winners include 1968 LPGA Tour players Sandra Post (1964), Alena Sharp (1989), Jennifer Kirby (2009, 2010), Augusta James (2011), Brittany Marchand (2012), Brooke Henderson (2014), Maddie Szeryk and Team Canada standout Brigitte Thibault (2019). World, Canadian and Ontario Golf Hall of Fame member, Marlene Stewart Streit, holds the record for the most titles with 11 (’51, ’56, ’57, ’58, ’68, ’69, ’70, ’72, ’74, ’76, and ’77).


First played in 1989, the Ontario Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship is open to female golfers aged 25 and over. In honour of her outstanding accomplishments at the Mid-Amateur level in Ontario, the trophy is rightfully named after 14-time champion Mary Ann Hayward. The event is contested annually in a 54-hole competition. Other notable past champions of the event include 2012 Canadian Senior Women’s Champion Terrill Samuel (1991, 2000 and 2010), Casey Ward (2015) and Golf Ontario Hall of Fame members Gayle Borthwick Hitchens (1992, 1993), and Judith Kyrinis (2017).


Key Provincial Competitions Protocols/Restrictions (subject to change)


Click here for the full version of the Championship protocols. **These protocols are subject to change as new guidance is received from the government.


Instagram/Twitter/Facebook: @TheGolfOntario

To stay informed on Golf Ontario’s championship play, events, and additional updates, make sure to follow us on Instagram and Twitter, and like us on Facebook. Make sure to visit our website for further information.


For more information please contact:

Brianna Christopher, Assistant, Marketing Communications.
Golf Ontario


Peter MacKellar, Manager, Marketing and Communications.
Golf Ontario