Ontario Men's Better Ball

Ontario Men’s Better-Ball from Oakdale G&CC Rounds out 2022 Provincial Championships

Toronto, ON – On Monday, October 3rd, the 63rd Ontario Men’s Better Ball Championship returns to Oakdale Golf & Country Club, the site of the 2023 and 2026 RBC Canadian Open, as Ontario’s best teams square off in this long-standing event. 

With its three nines, Oakdale is a magnificent course, rambling over rolling land, with the picturesque Black Creek running throughout the design. The players will take on the Thompson (front nine) and Homenuik (back nine). “Hosting this prestigious Championship is an absolute honour for our Club,” said Ian Crebbin, Director of Golf. “Oakdale has always provided a stern test for competitors and will surely provide some memorable moments. On behalf of the Club, we look forward to hosting all participants.”

Some notable names are the 2021 Champions, Jonn Drewery (Westmount G&CC) and Derek McGrath (Galt CC), who carded an amazing nine-under (63), and no doubt will try to repeat this year. Other big names in the mix include 2022 Ontario Men’s Match Play Champion Charles Fitzsimmons (and 2022 Canadian Men’s Mid-Am Champion), 2020 Ontario Men’s Mid-Am Champion Ryan Tsang, and recently crowned 2022 Ontario Senior Men’s Better-Ball winners Cam Hreljac and Chris Lee (also winners of this event in 2003). Meanwhile, Oakdale hopes a few members will win the Championship, a feat first accomplished by current members Howard Mandelbaum and Michael Katz in 1996.

Teams will attack the course with a shotgun round starting at 10 am. More information on the Ontario Men’s Better-Ball Championship can be found on our Golf Genius page here

About The Ontario Men’s Better-Ball

The Ontario Men’s Better-Ball Championship has been played since 1959. All but two of the championships have taken place at Oakdale G&CC. The tournament is open to teams whose members both have up-to-date Golf Canada Handicap Factor of 8.4 or less at the time of online registration through the completion of the Championship. Each team’s combined Handicap Factor must not exceed 12.8 at the time of online registration through the completion of the Championship. Previous event winners include: Gary Cowan, Bill Morland, Nick Weslock, Kelly Roberts, Warren Sye, Matthew Ion Young, Albin Choi, Garrett Rank and Simon McInnis.

About Golf Ontario

Golf Ontario is Ontario’s Provincial Sport Organization focused on enhancing participation, elevating performance, and supporting the passion of golfers in Ontario. With over 100,000 individual members and 500 member clubs, Golf Ontario is one of the largest golf associations in the world.  From rating courses and keeping the integral rules of the game intact to growing the game at the grassroots level and hosting the best amateur tournaments in Canada, Golf Ontario is a passionate group dedicated to Shaping Lives Through Golf.

Instagram/Twitter/Facebook: @TheGolfOntario

To stay informed on Golf Ontario’s championship play, events, and additional updates, follow us on Instagram and Twitter and like us on Facebook.

Media contact:

Peter MacKellar, Manager, Marketing and Communications, Golf Ontario;

Championship Contact:

Rob Watson, Manager Competitions, Golf Ontario