High Winds & Higher Scores For Round 2 of the Ontario Women’s Amateur & Mid-Amateur Championship

Dalewood, ON – The start of round two came with sunshine and clear skies at Dalewood Golf Club for the Ontario Women’s Amateur and Mid-Amateur Championship. Due to the severe weather delays experienced yesterday, eleven groups resumed round one at 8:00 a.m. and round two was pushed back an hour to an 8:30 a.m. start. As the day progressed, the wind increased and so did the scores.


With the Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship moving into tomorrow for their third and final round, leader of round two Nonie Marler, Public Player, completed her round with a notable four birdies and three bogeys (144). In a two way tie for second is 2017 champion Judith Kyrinis, (Granite GC), and Lindsey Hummel (St. Thomas G&CC). Following round three will be the awards ceremony for the Mid-Amateur division only.


Afterwards Maler, who also plays out of Marine Drive Golf Club in BC, had this to say about her round. “I feel like it was an improvement over yesterday, so I was pleased with that. I had a good game plan and committed to my shots more”. She added, “I had one practice round under my belt and having the first round with two rounds now, I felt like I knew the course a lot better today to be able to give myself the best opportunity possible and really capitalize on it”.


Climbing the leaderboard of the Women’s Amateur Championship is GO Public Player, Sydney Naro, with one under on the front and two over on the back, for an overall one over through 2 rounds (142). Following in second with four birdies for the day is first round leader Claire Hernandez (Thornhill Club). In third at three over, a six way tie to battle it out tomorrow; Brooke Rivers (Brampton GC), Sarah Beqaj (Toronto GC), Sarah-Eve Rheaume (Golf Quebec Club), Sadie Dewinton-Davies (Public Player), Nonie Marler (Public Player), and Vanessa Boroviols (Weston G&CC). This evening, Golf Ontario will cut the field down to 42 plus ties.


The third round will begin at 7:30 a.m. tomorrow. For future results and information on the championship, visit the official championship page here.


For photos of the tournament, click here.


About the Ontario Women’s Am & Mid Am Championship

First played in 1904, the Ontario Women’s Amateur Championship is Ontario’s oldest provincial championship and is the pinnacle of women’s golf in the province. The event features the best female golfers from across Ontario in a 72-hole stroke play format.


The Women’s Amateur has produced a rich history of champions throughout the tournaments long and cherished existence. Past winners include 1968 LPGA Tour players Sandra Post (1964), Alena Sharp (1989), Jennifer Kirby (2009, 2010), Augusta James (2011), Brittany Marchand (2012), Brooke Henderson (2014), Maddie Szeryk and Team Canada standout Brigitte Thibault (2019). World, Canadian and Ontario Golf Hall of Fame member, Marlene Stewart Streit, holds the record for the most titles with 11 (’51, ’56, ’57, ’58, ’68, ’69, ’70, ’72, ’74, ’76, and ’77).


First played in 1989, the Ontario Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship is open to female golfers aged 25 and over. In honour of her outstanding accomplishments at the Mid-Amateur level in Ontario, the trophy is rightfully named after 14-time champion Mary Ann Hayward. The event is contested annually in a 54-hole competition. Other notable past champions of the event include 2012 Canadian Senior Women’s Champion Terrill Samuel (1991, 2000 and 2010), Casey Ward (2015) and Golf Ontario Hall of Fame members Gayle Borthwick Hitchens (1992, 1993), and Judith Kyrinis (2017).


Instagram/Twitter/Facebook: @TheGolfOntario

To stay informed on Golf Ontario’s championship play, events, and additional updates, make sure to follow us on Instagram and Twitter, and like us on Facebook. Make sure to visit our website for further information.


For more information please contact:

Brianna Christopher, Assistant, Marketing Communications.
Golf Ontario


Peter MacKellar, Manager, Marketing and Communications.
Golf Ontario