GAO Manuel Prado Cup

Dave Bunker earns top-10 finish, Ontario 12th at Peru event

UXBRIDGE— It was another good showing for the Golf Association of Ontario (GAO) at the 2015 Manuel Prado and Carlos Raffo A. Cups in Lima, Peru, April 6-11. The GAO was represented by Woodbridge’s Dave Bunker and Wellesley’s Rob Cowan and managed to finish in a tie for 12th for the Manuel Prado Cup at a combined +16. Meanwhile, Bunker finished in a tie for 10th in the Carlos Raffo A. competition at -1.

This was the seventh time that the 49-year-old Bunker participated in the event. He got off to a blistering start during the first round, finding himself at -2 after nine. He would finish the round -4 (68) and was just one shot off the lead. He remained in contention after the second round, shooting a -2 (70) and remained in second, one back.  Bunker hit a rough patch during the third round and fell back after a +2 (74). His final round was similar as he carded a +3 (75) to finish the event at -1, good enough to secure his top-10 finish.

Cowan 2]


As for Cowan, 50, he was making his fourth appearance at the event. He finished his opening round with a +3 (75). He ran into a rough second round and ended it at +5 (77). Cowan capped off his third round with late birdies on 17 and 18 and finished +4 (76). His final round ended at +5 (77) bringing his tournament total to 17-over, good enough for a share of 44th to close out the event.

The event, sanctioned by the Peruvian Golf Federation, is hosted annually by the Lima Golf Club and has been running since 1988. The tournament is open to players with three or less handicaps and draws amateur golfers from all across the Americas and Europe. The players had two practice rounds (April 6-7) before the first round began on April 8.

The team competition took the two members’ scores over the four days and the lowest aggregate was declared the winner. Winning the 2015 Manuel Prado Cup was the Argentinian team of Matias N. Lezcano and Andres G. Gallegos at -8. For the individual competition, the lowest score after 72 holes was declared the winner. Patricio Alzamora, from the host club in Lima won the event at -8.

For more information on the event and round by round results see: