2020 Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship invades Otter Creek GC August 11-14

Otterville, ON Heading into our third of nine championships, Golf Ontario is thrilled to welcome the Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship to Otter Creek Golf Club from August 11th to 14th.


Designed by renowned Canadian Golf Course architect Dick Kirkpatrick, Otter Creek Golf Club opened its doors to the public on July 1, 2008. Measuring just over 7,100 yards and featuring six sets of tees, Otter Creek was designed to challenge players of all skill levels. Golf Manager, John Hall, said “they can expect a challenge that’s for sure! Players will need creativity around the greens, as they have a lot of angulation and slopes. The toughest hole here is typically the ninth, with a long par four straight up a hill and a big ravine right in front of the green. Another one to watch for that players always talk about after the round is the tough par three on number twelve”. Otter Creek has hosted quite a few qualifiers and tours, but with the bustling season they’ve been experiencing, they are very excited to welcome players, volunteers, and staff for the championship.


The Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship will consist of athletes from the following four qualifiers: Tangle Creek GC (July 16), Black Bear Ridge GC (July 20), Shelburne G&CC (July 21), and Grand Niagara GC (July 22). For leaderboard information on qualifiers, please click the golf course name.


Due to a limitation to field sizes with Golf Ontario safety protocols, a maximum of 114 players will be battling for the title. The field is expected to be exceptionally strong with the likes of 2018/2020 Ontario Junior (U19) Boys’ Champion, Nolan Piazza (Cherry Hill Club), and 2019 Ontario Men’s Amateur runner-up Charles Fitzsimmons (Thornhill Club) battling for the title. Some other players to keep an eye on are Ontario Golf Hall of Famer Dave Bunker (Cherry Hill Club), Team Canada National Amateur Squad member Cougar Collins (Rocky Crest GC), and former National Hockey League player Michael Cammalleri (The National Club of Canada). Cammalleri played in the National Hockey League from 2002 to 2018, most recently playing for the Edmonton Oilers, and won the final Men’s Amateur qualifier at Grand Niagara Golf Club.


Team Ontario members competing include: Ashton McCulloch (Cataraqui GC), Ben MacLean (St. Catherine’s G&CC), LukeDelGobbo (Lookout Point GC), Jeffrey Fang (Station Creek GC – North), Michael Ikejiani (Barrie CC), and Thomas Latter (Credit Valley GC).


We are also excited to have introduced a Front Line Workers donation program this year as part of our registration process, to give back to the local communities we will be playing in. The Front Line Workers donations from the Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship will be donated to The Tillsonburg District Memorial Hospital Foundation.


First tee off of the day for round one on August 11th is set for 7:30 a.m. To follow the leaderboard, click here.


About the Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship

The Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship was first played in 1923 at Lakeview Golf and Country Club. Featuring the best amateur golfers in the province it is arguably the most prestigious event in the country. Many players have kickstarted their journey to professional golf through the event.


Since the inaugural event, the Ontario Amateur has enjoyed an illustrious history of great champions including highly decorated amateur golfer and NHL referee Garrett Rank (2018), 2003 Masters Champion Mike Weir (1990 & 1992), Gerry Kesselring (1949, 1951, 1952, 1953), professional players Jon Mills (2001), Corey Conners (2010), Albin Choi (2012), Chris Hemmerich(2014) and Gary Cowan, who holds the record for the most Ontario Amateur Championships with nine (1964, 1968, 1971, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1978, 1981 & 1984).


Key Provincial Competitions Protocols/Restrictions (subject to change)

  • No caddies permitted. (all events)
  • No spectators, including coaches and media, permitted. (**Exception: Players 18 & Under may have one accompanying adult)
  • No motorized carts permitted. (**Exception: Single rider carts only for Senior & Disability Championships)
  • All events will be a single tee start – no shotguns or split tees.
  • Restricted field numbers. (see individual championships)
  • Qualifiers will have limited field sizes. Entries will be accepted on a first come, first serve basis.

Click here for the full version of the Championship protocols. **These protocols are subject to change as new guidance is received from the government.


Instagram/Twitter/Facebook: @TheGolfOntario


To stay informed on Golf Ontario’s championship play, events, and additional updates, make sure to follow us on Instagram and Twitter, and like us on Facebook. Make sure to visit our websitefor further information.


For more information please contact:


Brianna Christopher, Assistant, Marketing Communications.
Golf Ontario

Peter MacKellar, Manager, Marketing and Communications.
Golf Ontario