agm Golf Ontario RattleSnake Point GC

2017 Golf Ontario Board of Directors announced at AGM

MILTON— Golf Ontario held its Annual General Meeting on April 22 at Rattlesnake Point Golf Club in Milton. At the AGM, the 2017 Board of Directors was announced along with President and Vice President.

Filling the role of President for 2017 will be John Gallinger (Meadowbrook Golf & Country Club), who says he is excited about the opportunity. “On one hand, it will be a little intimidating because I am following in the foot steps of a lot of great leaders. In my three years on the Board I have seen both Jim King and Chris Osborne who are both great leaders and charismatic speakers. So from that perspective, I hope I can live up to the standards they have set. On the other hand, I have lots of confidence. We have a great team, the staff, the Board, including three new members who bring a lot of unique life experience, so it is going to be a lot of fun. We have a lot of good things going on in golf and a lot of good things going on with Golf Ontario.”

Gallinger has served on the Golf Ontario Board for the past three year but has been involved with golf throughout his life. As a player, he played university golf at the University of Waterloo and continues to participate in Golf Ontario events to this day. He has sat on numerous Golf Ontario committees including: Finance, which he also Chaired, Governance and Junior Golf Drive. Gallinger has also represented Ontario at the Golf Canada Provincial Council and served on the Golf Canada Foundation Board of Directors.

What makes Gallinger a great fit for the role might be his professional experience. Now running his own consulting company, Gallinger previously served as CEO for Standardbred Canada, a national not-for-profit association. “I have been in Golf Ontario Executive Director Mike Kelly’s position and know what it is like to run the organization and report to a board of volunteer members,” added Gallinger

As for his goals for the coming year, Gallinger realizes that all accomplishments must be a team effort. “My goal would be, if I can take the words from Chris Osborne, to leave it (Golf Ontario) in a better place than it was when I came in. I recognize that is not just me; it is the board, the staff and everyone working collectively. No one person makes a big change, so I see my role as being the facilitator of the group and I hope to be successful in that role.”

Taking on the role of Vice President will be Tim Cain (Glenn Abbey Golf Club). Cain joined the board last year and has already shown his commitment to Golf Ontario in moving into the new role.

Returning to the Board in 2017 are: Howard Atkinson (Goodwood Golf Club), Anthony Dunn (The Marshes), Jason Harris (Orr Lake Golf Club), Mark Hayes (Rattlesnake Point Golf Club), Ivy Steinberg (Granite Golf Club), and Kent Trainor (GO Public Player). Chris Osborne will serve as Past President.

New to the board this year will be: Jay Aspin (GO Public Player), Barbara Beaudoin (Hamilton Golf & Country Club), and Susan Vail (Dunnville Golf & Country Club).

Golf Ontario would like to welcome the new board members as well as thank the departing members: Peter Zakarow (Beacon Hall GC), Carol-Ann Goering (Toronto Golf Club) for their service.