Dalewood Golf Club GAO Junior Boys' Championship

The best in junior golf set to tackle Dalewood Golf Club for Investors Group Junior Boys’ Championship

PORT HOPE – A field of 156 golfers will tee it up at Dalewood Golf Club when the Golf Association of Ontario’s (GAO) 2015 Investors Group Junior Boys’ Championship begins on July 21.

“To bring the province’s premier junior boys’ championship to Port Hope and Dalewood Golf Club is very exciting,” said Mike Kelly, GAO Interim Executive Director. “The course will present a great test to all players in their quest for the gold medal and to secure their ticket to the National Championship.”

“On behalf of the members and staff of Dalewood Golf Club we are very honoured to be hosting such a great event,” said Jamie Carter, Dalewood Golf Club Director of Golf & Operations. “The 156 Junior Boys who have qualified are deserving of a terrific venue to play for the championship and Dalewood is ready! We have a great group of members who have come forward to volunteer in assisting the GAO to facilitate what will be a great week of golf. We hope that Dalewood will be viewed by every competitor as not only a wonderful part of their junior career but also as a great part of their journey into maturing into fine young men!”

Players qualified for the event, which will run from July 21-24, through one of 10 qualifiers that were held throughout the province during June and early July.

In addition to the title itself, the golfers will be looking to claim one of the Canadian Junior Boys’ Championship qualifying spots and the top three finishers will earn the right to represent Ontario in the inter-provincial competition at the Canadian Junior Boys’ Championship, Aug. 3-6 at the Summerlea Golf & Country Club in Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec.

Included in this year’s field are a few past GAO Champions. Scarborough’s Gavin McIver, who won the 2014 Juvenile Championship, and Port Perry’s Sam McNulty, the 2013 Juvenile champion, will both be part of the field.

In addition, former GAO Bantam Champions in the field include: Lakeshore’s Curtis Hughes (2014), Vaughn’s Tony Gil (2011) who also won the 2014 Investors Group Junior Boys’ Spring Classic, and Port Lambton’s Brendan Seys (2010).

Unionville’s Max Sear, who captured the 2015 Investors Group Junior Boys’ Spring Classic and Trevor Ranton, the 2014 Junior Boys’ Match Play Champion, will also be players to watch.

Both Gil and Ranton, will represent Golf Canada as members of their Development Squad.

All seven members of Team Ontario will also compete in the event. Joining Sear and Seys will be London’s Jackson Bowery, Dunrobin’s Jake Bryson, Thornhill’s Jason Chung, Vaughn’s Kelvin Lim, and Burlington’s Kyle MacDonald.  The GAO’s regional teams (Ottawa, York, Waterloo, Niagara and Essex-Kent) will also be well represented.

Leading the local contingent will be a trio of players from Cobourg and the host club: Dalewood. Mackenzie Carter, Nicholas Oosterhof and Jacob Richards will look to win the tournament on their home course.

Spectators are invited to Dalewood to check out action throughout the week. The opening round begins on July 21st at 7:30 a.m. For complete information, including pairings see the tournament site at: http://gao.bluegolf.com/bluegolf/gao15/event/gao1520/index.htm

About the Investors Group Junior Boys’ Championship

The Investors Group Ontario Junior Boys’ Championship is open to male golfers 18 years of age and under. The tournament was first contested in 1923. Past champions include: Albin Choi (2009), Matt Hill (2007), Jon Mills (1996), Mike Weir (1998), Kelly Roberts (1969), Stu Hamilton (1963) and Gary Cowan (1956).