GAO Men's AM Peterborough G&CC

The best amateurs in Ontario set to embark on Peterborough Golf & Country Club for 2015 Investors Group Ontario Men’s Amateur

PETERBOROUGH – A field of 156 golfers will take to the Peterborough Golf & Country Club when the Golf Association of Ontario’s (GAO) 2015 Investors Group Men’s Amateur Championship kicks off on July 14.

“To host the most prestigious event on the GAO calendar is certainly an honour for our Club,” said Chris Jones, Head Golf Professional at Peterborough Golf & Country Club. “It speaks to the level of quality of our Club and course as well as to the history that both this event and Peterborough Golf & Country Club share. Our members are extremely excited to be able to watch the best players in our province play our course.”

“It’s very exciting for the GAO to return to Peterborough Golf & Country Club to host another major championship,” said Mike Kelly, GAO Interim Executive Director. “The Ontario Amateur is one of the strongest fields in Canadian amateur golf and there is no question the players are in for treat but a stern test in their quest to hoist the Gary Cowan Trophy.”

Players qualified for the event, which will run from July 14-17, through one of 14 qualifiers that were held throughout the province during May and June.

In addition to the title itself, the golfers will be looking to claim one of the Canadian Amateur Championship qualifying spots and the top three finishers will earn the right to represent Ontario in the inter provincial competition at the Canadian Amateur, Aug. 10-13 at the Weston Golf & Country Club/Lambton Golf & Country Club in Toronto.

With so many of the favorites from last year moving on to the professional ranks, including 2014 champion Chris Hemmerich and 2010 Champion Corey Conners, this year’s event is wide open. The only former champion in the field is 2008 winner Dave Bunker. Bunker, 50, is also a three-time Ontario Mid-Amateur Champion and recently qualified, on his first attempt, and competed in the U.S. Senior Open (June 22-28).

A trio of recent GAO winners will also tee it up with the rest of the field. Waterloo’s Matt LeMay, 2014 Investors Group Junior Boys’ Champion, Bognor’s Josiah Dixon, 2015 Men’s Champion of Champions winner, and Aurora’s Peter Willis, 2014 Baka Public Player Champion, will all look for more provincial success.

The Golf Canada national programs will be well represented with National Team member Blair Hamilton, from Burlington, Development Squad members Tony Gil, from Vaughn, and Trevor Ranton, Waterloo, all part of the field.

Team Ontario will send a trio of players to compete in the event. Unionville’s Maxwell Sear, London’s Jackson Bowery and Vaughn’s Kelvin Lim will all be participating. Lim will have the distinct honour of being the youngest competitor at just 13 years of age.

The local contingent will be comprised of Ryan Ahrens, Michael Farrugia, Luke Gavin, Christian Rutherford and Paul Stevens who all call Peterborough home.

For complete results during the tournament and full information see the tournament page at:

Spectators are welcome to attend the event and there is no charge. The first round tee times begin at 7:30 a.m. on July 14.

About the Investors Group Ontario Men’s Amateur

The Investors Group Ontario Amateur Championship was first played in 1923 at Lakeview Golf and Country Club, and has a rich history of former champions. Past winners include 2003 Masters Champion Mike Weir (1990 & 1992), PGA Tour player Jon Mills (2001), Gerry Kesselring (1949, ‘51, ‘52, ‘53) and Gary Cowan, who holds the record for the most Ontario Amateur Championships with nine (1964, ’68, ’71, ’74, ’74, ’75, ’77, ’78, ’81 & ’84).