championship Golf Ontario junior golf pathway Men's Amateur Championship next wave team ontario

The 102nd Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship

The 102nd Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship heads to St. Catharines Golf and Country Club June 24 – 27.

A field of the top 156 amateur golfers in the province will be put to the test and compete for the Gary Cowan Trophy.

As one of Golf Ontario’s biggest events in the calendar year for more than a century, the Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship has been the springboard to many players’ journeys to impressive playing careers.

Notable past winners include Mike Weir (1990, 1992), Corey Conners (2010), Gerry Kesselring (1949, 1951-53) and Gary Cowan, who holds the Golf Ontario record for most wins in this championship with nine.

The first two rounds will see 7:30 a.m. start times until the 36-hole-cut midway through the championship.

For first round pairings and start times, CLICK HERE.


Team Ontario: Four current Team Ontario members in Jordan Hwang (Emerald Hills Golf and Country Club), Dawson Lew (Players Club – Markham) and Nathanial Yoo (Meadowbrook Golf Club) are in the field, as well as former members in Zach Smith (Brampton Golf Club) and Justin Matthews (Bigwin Island Golf Club).

Gabriel Mainella (Summit Golf & Country Club), this year’s Ontario Junior Players Invitational Champion, will be the lone representative of the 2024 Next Wave program.

Team Canada’s NextGen squad will see four of its players in the field: Ben MacLean (Cherry Hill Club); Luke Smith (The Thornhill Club); Matthew Javier (Scarboro Golf & Country Club); Eric Zhao (Bayview Golf & Country Club).

Men’s Amateur Order of Merit Rankings: Charles Fitzsimmons, No. 1, Men’s Amateur, Men’s Mid-Amateur; Max Corcoran, No. 3, Men’s Amateur; Andrew Nagel, No. 4, Men’s Amateur, No. 2, Men’s Mid-Amateur.

Top Junior Golf Pathway Ranking PlayersAidan Talent, No. 1, U19; Gabriel Mainella, No. 2, U19, No. 1, U17; Dawson Lew, No. 3, U19, No. 2, U17.


The 156-player field is made up of:

The defending 101st Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship, Cameron Pero (Picton Golf & Country Club).

Josh DiCarlo (Pointe West Golf Club), who recently won the 2024 Ontario Men’s Match Play Championship.

Matthew Javier (Scarboro Golf & Country Club), two-time winner of the Ontario (U17) Juvenile Boys Championship (2022 & 2023) and this year’s Ontario Junior (U19) Boys Spring Classic champion.

Luke Smith (The Thornhill Club) last year’s Ontario Junior (U19) Boys Champion and the 2022 Ontario Junior (U19) Boys Match Play Champion.

The 2022 Ontario Junior (U19) Boys Spring Classic Champion & 2022 NextGen Ontario Champion, Ben MacLean (Cherry Hill Club).

The 2021 Ontario Junior (U19) Boys Champion and 2023 Golf Quebec Men’s Amateur Champion, James Newton (Royal Ottawa Golf Club).

Max Corcoran (Loch March Golf & Country Club), the 2023 Golf Quebec Junior (U19) Boys Champion.

The 2022 Ontario Junior (U19) Boys Champion, Oscar Feschuk (Weston Golf & Country Club).

Andreas Diogenous (Whistle Bear Golf Club) former Peewee (U13), Bantam (U15) and Juvenile (U17) Champion.

Nolan Piazza (Cherry Hill Club), two-time Ontario Junior (U19) Boys Champion (2018 & 2020).

The 2023 Ontario Men’s Match Play Champion, Justin Matthews (Bigwin Island Golf Club), who recently competed in the RBC Canadian Open.

Charles Fitzsimmons (Summit Golf & Country Club), two-time winner of the Ontario Men’s Match Play Championship (2021 & 2022) and winner of the 2019 Ontario Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship.

Garret Rank (Westmount Golf & Country Club), who won the 2018 Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship and the Ontario Men’s Mid-Amateur twice (2015 & 2018).

Phillip Arci (The Pulpit Club), the 2023 Ontario Men’s Mid-Amateur Player of the Year and winner of the 2024 Men’s Amateur Division of The National Golf Club of Canada Invitational.

The winner of last year’s Ontario Senior Men’s Championship, Adam Creighton (Cherry Hill Club).

The 2024 Men’s Champion of Champions winner, Kyle Gordon (Coppinwood Golf Club).

Winner of the 2022 Ontario Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship, David Lang (Donalda Club).

Ryan Tsang (Cedar Brae Golf Club), the 2020 Ontario Men’s Mid-Amateur Champion.

Ontario Golf Hall of Famer, Dave Bunker (Cherry Hill Club), who is a four-time winner of the Ontario Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship (2007, 2010, 2014, 2021). He also won the Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship in 2008 and the 2020 Ontario Senior Men’s Championship.


Rob Watson, Tournament Director: “The Ontario Men’s Amateur is annually one of the most exciting championships on the Golf Ontario calendar because of the large and competitive field we see in this event. This year should be no different as the field is as strong as it has ever been with 156 of Ontario’s best male Amateur golfers.”

Ryan Finn, Chief Sport Officer: “Golf Ontario is thrilled to celebrate St. Catharines G&CC’s 125th anniversary by crowning Ontario’s top male amateur golfer. This year’s champion will have bested an elite field and will join an exclusive group of past champions. We look forward to a competitive and exciting championship.”

Cameron Thin, Head Golf Professional, St. Catharines Golf and Country Club: “As a part of our 125th anniversary, the St. Catharines Golf and Country Club is proud to be hosting this year’s Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship and our membership is looking forward to showcasing our wonderful golf course to the best players in the province, along with the spectators enjoying the golf.  With a large and highly competitive field, I feel that this is a great opportunity for the competitors to experience the unique architecture of the course; the challenges it presents to players; and believe that it will identify a worthy champion.”


Championship Venue: St. Catharines Golf and Country Club

Championship Dates: June 24 – 27

Field: 156 players

Format: 72-hole Stroke Play (36-hole-cut – low 60 & ties)

Leaderboard Link: 24′ Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship Event :: Tournament Results (

Fun Fact: Gary Cowan holds the Golf Ontario record for the most Ontario Men’s Amateur Championships with nine (1964, 1968, 1971, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1978, 1981 & 1984).

Social Handles: @thegolfontario on Instagram, Facebook and X