Golf Ontario

Hayward Captures 15th Ontario Women’s Mid-Amateur

July 7, 2023
North York, ON – The sun and heat returned during the 108th Ontario Women’s Amateur & Mid-Amateur Championship at Donalda Club.

Winning the Ontario Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship for the fifteenth time is Mary-Ann Hayward (St. Thomas Golf & Country Club Ltd). Hayward shot a (77) with two birdies.

We are proud to announce Golf Ontario team member Alexandra Taylor (Cherry Hill Club) took home second place in the Mid-Amateur Championship after shooting a (79) with one birdie. Following behind, tied for third place is; Jessica Levy (Donalda Club), Elizabeth Tong (Ladies’ Golf Club of Toronto), and Meredith Fairbairn (Cutten Fields). Hayward, Taylor, and Fairbairn will represent Ontario as the Interprovincial team at the Canadian Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship later this month in Creemore, ON.

Joline Truong (Golf Ontario Member) continued to hold onto her first-place position today on the Amateur leaderboard after shooting a (74) with two birdies. Jasmine Ly(Golf Ontario Member) follows in second place with a (72) with four birdies. Tied for third place is Alissa XU (Station Creek Golf Club) and Shauna Liu (Station Creek Golf Club).

The fourth and final round of the Women’s Amateur Championship will tee off at 7:30 am tomorrow, July 8. To view pairings & starting times for each round and live leaderboard updates please visit the Official Tournament Website here.

View official tournament photos here.

About the Women’s Amateur & Mid-Amateur Championship

First played in 1904, the Ontario Women’s Amateur Championship is Ontario’s oldest provincial championship and is the pinnacle of women’s golf in the province. 96 players will compete from across Ontario in a 72-hole stroke play format.

The Women’s Amateur has produced a rich history of champions throughout the tournament’s long and cherished existence. Past winners include 1968 LPGA Tour players Sandra Post (1964), Alena Sharp (1989), Jennifer Kirby (2009, 2010), Augusta James (2011), Brittany Marchand (2012), Brooke Henderson (2014), Maddie Szeryk and Brigitte Thibault (2019). World, Canadian and Ontario Golf Hall of Fame member, Marlene Stewart Streit, holds the record for the most titles with 11 (’51, ’56, ’57, ’58, ’68, ’69, ’70, ’72, ’74, ’76, and ’77).

First played in 1989, the Ontario Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship is open to female golfers aged 25 and over. In honour of her outstanding accomplishments at the Mid-Amateur level in Ontario, the trophy is rightfully named after 14-time champion Mary Ann Hayward. The Mid-Amateur championship will be awarded after 54 holes of play.. Other notable past champions of the event include 2012 Canadian Senior Women’s Champion Terrill Samuel (1991, 2000,2010, 2020), Casey Ward (2015) and Golf Ontario Hall of Fame members Gayle Borthwick Hitchens (1992, 1993), and Judith Kyrinis (2017).

About Golf Ontario

Golf Ontario is Ontario’s Provincial Sport Organization focused on enhancing participation, elevating performance, and supporting the passion of golfers in Ontario. With over 100,000 individual members and 500 member clubs, Golf Ontario is one of the most significant golf associations in the world. From rating courses and keeping the integral rules of the game intact to growing the game at the grassroots level and hosting the best amateur tournaments in Canada, Golf Ontario is a passionate group dedicated to Shaping Lives Through Golf.

For more information, please contact:

Greg Mitchell, Coordinator; Brand, Communications & Marketing Golf Ontario

Rob Watson, Tournament Director